Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Salon Series

Myth, Magic and History: Blending the Real and the Unreal

Natasha Bowen SALON Master Thumbnail (6)

Friday, Apr. 8
6-7:15 PM ET

online event; open to the public and all mentees & mentors

Join author Natasha Bowen as she speaks about her creative process and the inspiration behind her debut
YA novel Skin of the Sea, an unforgettable love story infused with West African mythology that merges the
fantastical and historical on an epic scale.

Participants will learn the basics of YA fantasy storytelling and will have the opportunity to create their own narratives using writing prompts inspired by the themes in Bowen’s book. Learn about the power of imagination, love and memories in “Myth, Magic and History: Blending the Real and the Unreal.”

At Friday Night Salons, a special guest artist shares their personal and professional journey and guides us through a series of inspirational writing prompts.

Meet the Teaching Artist

Natasha Bowen

Natasha Bowen

Natasha Bowen is of Nigerian and Welsh descent and lives in Cambridge, England, where she grew up. Natasha studied English and Creative Writing at Bath Spa University before moving to East London, where she taught for nearly ten years. Her debut book, Skin of the Sea, was inspired by her passion for mermaids and African history.She is obsessed with Japanese and German stationery and spends stupid amounts on notebooks, which she then features on her secret Instagram. When she’s not writing, she’s reading, watched over carefully by Milk and Honey, her cat and dog.

Skin of the Sea
MORE ABOUT NATASHA’S BOOK

The must-read Black mermaid fantasy series that #1 NYT bestselling author Nicola Yoon calls “epic and original,” in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Beasts of Prey.

“Bowen has built an impressive mythology to buttress her fairy tale, and it’s a pleasure to discover this world through Simi’s eyes.” —The New York Times

Available now for purchase!

This event is open to:

all mentees, all mentors and the public

April 8 6:00 pm 7:15 pm EDT

Share This

Join the Community

From mailing list to mentoring and more…

GIVE WRITE NOW

Invest in the next generation of leaders!

Connect with us
Girls Write Now

247 West 37th Street, Suite 1000
New York, NY 10018